Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
About the Awards for Excellence



Awards for Excellence Reception
The first Awards for Excellence Reception, where the awards will be presented and celebrated, will be during the Annual Conference & Meeting on Sunday, May 8 at The Menil Collection in Houston, TX. We hope that all Awardees will be able to join the event. The ability to attend the event does not influence the award selection process.  


About the Awards

Awarded at the AAMC Annual Conference & Meeting, and open to all AAMC members in good standing, the Awards celebrate curatorial excellency with non-cash prizes. The Awards are the only of their kind by which curators honor their own. For more information please see below or click here to view a FAQ page for the AAMC Awards for Excellence.  

2015 Awards for Excellence at the AAMC Annual Conference
Image by Lynn Lane

Nomination Process

Nominations for all awards must be made by a current AAMC member and must be submitted electronically through one or more forms.  Self nominations are encouraged and welcomed. The nominated curators must be current members of AAMC. The winners are announced at the Annual Conference and Meeting in May of each year.   

Prizes are awarded for in the following categories:

Outstanding Catalogue or Publication (digital or print)

Outstanding Essay, Article, or Extended Catalogue Entry (digital or print)

Outstanding Exhibition or Installation


Categories of awards are subdivided based on museum operating budget, with the exception of the Essay, Article, or Extended Catalogue Entry.

Museums with operating budgets up to $4 million

Museums with operating budgets between $4 and $20 million

Museums with operating budgets over $20 million

AAMC members are encouraged to make nominations and may nominate more than once in any category. The publication awards will be determined by a jury, and where applicable for each operating budget category. The exhibition awards are determined by the AAMC prize committee, which will serve as the de facto jury for that awards category. 

Past winners by Year

Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal