Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
About the Awards for Excellence

AAMC & AAMC Foundation 

 Awards for Excellence


Awards are given in the following categories:

Outstanding Printed Catalogue/Publication (awarded by museum operating budget category)

Outstanding Exhibition/Installation (awarded by museum operating budget category)

Outstanding Essay, Article, or Extended Catalogue Entry (digital or print)

Outstanding Digital Publication 


About the Awards

Awarded at the AAMC & AAMC Foundation Annual Conference & Meeting, and open to all AAMC members in good standing, the Awards celebrate curatorial excellence with non-cash prizes. The Awards are the only of their kind by which curators honor their own. For more information please see below or click here to view a FAQ page for the AAMC Awards for Excellence. 


2018 Awards for Excellence Reception Presented by PACART

This year, we are pleased to announce the 2018 Awards for Excellence presented by PACART. AAMC received nearly 170 nominations, from there, 11 projects were selected as Awardees. A special thank you to our Awards for Excellence Chair, Jennifer Komar Olivarez, Head of Exhibition Planning and Strategy and Interim Curator, Purcell-Cutts House, Minneapolis Institute of Art, and to all our jurors.

We are delighted to celebrate the achievements of this year’s Awardees at the Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal with PACART as our sponsor.




2018 Awards for Excellence Awardees, image by Nadia Zheng Photography

Nomination & Selection Process

Award nominations are submitted electronically and can only be made by current AAMC members. Nominated curators do not need to be AAMC members but must be eligible for membership and become a member should they be selected as an Awardee. Self nominations are encouraged and welcomed. A nominator may submit more than one nomination in one or many categories. 

Awards for catalogues/publications; exhibitions/installations; essays, articles or extended catalogue entry; and digital publications, are determined by groups of curator jurors. In the first two categories, jurors are divided by operating budget category. 

Those selected for an Award are notified by AAMC & AAMC Foundation directly and will be asked to confirm attendance at the Conference, and exact listings for the Awards. The Awardees are announced at the Annual Conference & Meeting during an Awards for Excellence reception.


Past winners by Year


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal